Through the Woods by Emily Carroll | Review

Through the Woods
Emily Carroll

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…


Through the Woods is a graphic novel filled with horror stories linking to the woods. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman. CAUTION: DO NOT READ AT NIGHT.

The stories were creative, some took a different turn at the end, ones you did not expect. It’s very compelling, it forces you to keep reading even though you might be feeling so scared already, you have to know what is going to happen next. I read this through one sitting (not at night). Each story is unlike the other, it’s rare and unique.

The art and illustration was simplistic yet beautiful. It perfectly matched the stories and it was consistent. The cover, the typography and mix of red, blue and white throughout the novel shapes the mood and aura of the dark stories. Some of the illustrations were creepy and on point, making me scared to turn the page to see what the next illustration would look like. It catches your eye better than the words, it’s the first thing you see when you turn the page (the illustrations) so be careful because: spoilers.

This graphic novel is creepy, beautiful, terrifying and magnificent at the same time. Works best when read during Halloween and/or winter. A fast and easy, one-sitting read for those who are in reading slumps, this one will get you back up again.

IMG_2326IMG_2326IMG_2326IMG_2326IMG_2326


Happy Reading!

-Alyssa

#AlwaysKeepFighting

Advertisements

Let's Talk Bookish

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s