may recap 2016

May Flashback – Castle, Bookstagram and Tommy Wallach

May was a weird month. It felt both slow and fast at the same time. Not much because school but let’s look at my highlights for the past month 🙂

haul

may book haul 16

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Illustrated Version – sent by one of my aunts
  • November 9 by Colleen Hoover – ^
  • Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs – ^
  • The Leaving by Tara Altebrando – sent to me by Bloomsbury, thank you so much!
  • Whisper To Me by Nick Lake – sent by Bloomsbury. I got a proof for this as well, the cover is so beautiful ❤
  • Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach – I bought this because Tommy Wallach came to Sydney for the Writer’s Festival 🙂
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – bought by me
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – there was a sale at the bookstore 🙂 plus I’ve heard so many good things about this book

bookstagram-header

I REACHED 4K ON BOOKSTAGRAM!

I’ve got my 5K Giveaway sorted out already as well so yay 🙂 and  I’ve finally said to myself that I will stick with the photo editing process that I’m using right now. Over the past few months, I’ve tested out a few filters but now I’m sticking with one.

For May’s book challenge, I’ve created it with Brooke (@just_a_nerd777) and #alyssaandbrookemay16 got over ___ posts!

If you want to check out my account, it’s @alyssaisreading:)❤

Also leave your username in the comments below so I can check it out!

And if anyone is looking for a challenge for June, I created one with Elise –  @crumbsoffiction and Alicia –  @hashtaglovebooks.alicia (again ❤ ). You can find it here.

on the blog

(bolded ones are the top 3 posts)

new obsessions

WE ALL LOOKED UP: The album

tommy wallach-swf

Me and Tommy Wallach at the Sydney Writers’ Festival 2016

I went to the Sydney Writer’s festival this year and Tommy Wallach was there. I went to see him live and he performed some of his songs from his We All Looked Up album. I’ve listened to it once before and it didn’t really sink in but it did when he performed. I really hope he writes one for Thanks for the Trouble.

media musings

Castle’s cancellation 😥

One of my favourite crime shows ever got cancelled after 8 seasons 😦
8 seasons was a good run but the show got so good and the plot was getting better by the season. I’m just happy that the writers had prepared a scene to close the show because those last 20 seconds would have been a total cliffhanger. If you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about.


Those are the highlights of my month 🙂 What were yours?

may recap 2016 pinterest image

sign-out-alyssa

12 thoughts on “May Flashback – Castle, Bookstagram and Tommy Wallach

  1. gettingthroughanxiety says:

    Hey Alyssa!

    I too liked Castle though I didn’t really start watching until half way through the series or so. I liked the last episode though I know there are people who didn’t. Also I’m actually happy that they didn’t choose to keep having the show air without Stana Katic. I think without both her character and Castle’s, the show would have been a bit pointless!

    I’ve been enjoying participating in the June book challenge so far. Feel free to participate in my movie challenge and let me know if you do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. adhvikablog says:

    I feel you Castle’s cancellation was heartbreaking me and my friend were almost in tears ahh, it hurt! Also my username on Instagram is @fangirlalert_07

    Like

Let's Talk Bookish

