the-bad-beginning-review-feature

“The Bad Beginning” – Netflix’s A Series of Unfortunate Events Review

It happened! Netflix picked up a beloved book series of mine! I was beyond excited when I first heard the news that the series was going to happen.

I’ve had a lot of images in my head about what the setting would look like, what the characters would look like, while I was reading the books. A lot of those were supported by Brad Silberling’s movie adaptation.

The settings in the movie were similar to the movie adaptation. It was exactly how I pictured them while reading the books, dark, gloomy with an ominous tone.

I loved that the Baudelaire cast was younger than those from the movie adaptation, (especially Sunny because I would love to see her grow) and the cast is more diverse. Most of the actors also did a good job in delivering the persona of their character, especially Joan Cusack (who plays Justice Strauss) and Neil Patrick Harriss (who plays Count Olaf). If someone were to watch this series without having read the books, you could clearly tell that each of them have their own little specialty.

When I first found out that Harriss would be playing Count Olaf, I was so happy. I know a lot of people saw a lot of comedy from him in the trailers and were worried that it might take away from his villainous characteristic. I’ve seen a lot of Harriss’ work, so I was expecting Olaf to be kind of a comic relief.

SPOILERS AHEAD!

olaf

I was very surprised when Olaf picked up Sunny the way he did. Harriss doesn’t play many dark characters, he’s known for his funny, witty and musical traits so I was really pleased to see him play Olaf the way Olaf is meant to be played. While I was scared as I was watching that scene, it was a bit funny when The Hook-Handed Man held his hooks out, prepared to catch Sunny if she were to fall.

lemony

Like the movie adaptation, I enjoyed the narration of Snicket throughout the episodes. There’s something about the dialogue that makes it different from other movie or TV narrations that seem corny and unnecessary.

a-series-of-unfortunate-events-playlist-feature

K. Todd Freeman’s portrayal of Poe was perfection! Yes, Poe is not the best character in the whole series but his delivery was on point. Poe was oblivious and annoying, to the point where I wanted to yell at my scream when he wasn’t noticing the mark on Klaus’ face and even more when he didn’t listen to the children about Olaf.

We got to see more of Justice Strauss than in the movie adaptation. Viewers got to know her character more and we got to see into her personal library. I’ve seen Cusack play a judge in My Sister’s Keeper so I thought I got a little sneak peak into what she would be like playing Strauss. She comes off as very intelligent yet lonely, I felt so much empathy for her and it was so heartbreaking to see her face when she couldn’t adopt the children.

Finally, what I loved most about the first two episodes is that they included Violet’s left-hand trick that got her out of her marriage with Olaf.


What about you? What did you think of the first two episodes?

alyssaisreading-signoff

11 thoughts on ““The Bad Beginning” – Netflix’s A Series of Unfortunate Events Review

  1. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff says:

    I agree with everything you’ve said here Alyssa! I didn’t really care for the Jim Carey version of this because he wound up taking over the entire movie! I’ve only watched The Bad Beginning, but I really enjoyed them and thought they were much more in keeping with the book. I suppose it helps that Daniel Handler both produced and wrote the teleplay. And I think NPH is brilliant as Count Olaf. He further brings out that darkly comedic tone of the character. I agree though, it completely freaked me out what he did with Sunny, and I gasped when he hit Klaus. I’m looking forward to watching the rest of the series.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Samantha Reed says:

    I am so excited to start watching this! I have it added on my Netflix watch list but I was planning on finishing my rewatch of Supernatural first.

    I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the show so far! I have high expectations ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    I haven’t watched it yet, but I can’t wait to! Just gotta wait for exams and assignments to be over for me…I’ve heard nothing but great things about it, and to hear that Violet’s left-hand trick will be included, that makes me really excited to see how they will execute it!
    Thanks for sharing, Alyssa!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Doctor says:

    I agreed with your review except I kinda didn’t like the Poe character. He just gave of the wrong vibe. But I’m very glad that they kept the series clean because if you look almost all the Netflix originals are MA.

    Like

Let's Talk Bookish

